top of page

Easter Sugar Cookies

This recipe was adapted from a traditional favorite. The recipe for sugar cookies and very easy frosting is always a home run. We included it in our family cookbook and serve these at all of our parties. My mom's friend makes them the best and garnishes with pearlescent sprinkles. They were a hit at my baby shower as shown below.

(*Note the pink cookies topped with edible sugar pearls*).

Of course, this means I had to recreate the recipe for the low pro diet. They came out great! I used aquafaba, which is totally underutilized in the low pro diet. It is a great egg replacer and is the only one I use. Strain a can of chickpeas and it should give you enough for a few different recipes. Reach out to me if you have any questions on that.

This recipe took a few tries to determine the best temperature to cook. We all know low pro baked goods are touchy so keep a close eye on these when cooking. The goal is to pull them out as soon as you see any color creeping up the sides. For my oven, it turned out to be five minutes at 350 degrees (no convection). Pull them out at soon as there is any brown and let them cool.

(The perfect amount of color).

Then, frost. I suggest the frosting recipe below. It is so easy to make. Forget the complicated vegan royal icing recipes, this is 1000 x easier, better and lower in phe (win, win and win). Add sprinkles to freshly frosted cookies before it hardens. The sprinkles will stick right in place then. The cookies are delicious once the frosting sets in and it keeps them nice and soft. The combo is to die for.

Once you have this recipe down, you can make them for any occasion. My husband loves them and I will only make this recipe in the future. Forget making multiple recipes for various diets. You can make them for any holiday and in any shape. They would also be great for cookie decorating with the kids. You can prepare the dough several days in advance. I do recommend letting it come to room temperature as I found mine crumbly when I attempted to roll it out chilled. This was surprising to me as my gingerbread dough worked well chilled. Once it warmed up I found it more pliable.

Low Pro Sugar Cookies

Makes 36 cookies

Each cookie has 3 mg of phe, 0.09 gm protein and 78 calories

(These nutritional facts do not account for frosting. Listed below).

6 tbsp Aquafaba (Strained Chickpea Brine)

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 stick Butter

1 cup Sugar, White Granulated

2.5 cups Wheat Starch

2 tsp Baking Powder

.5 tsp Salt, Table

Preheat oven on bake at 350 degrees. Cream butter, vanilla and sugar. Add aquafaba. Mix wheat starch, baking powder and salt. Slowly add dry ingredients and beat until dough forms. Roll out into desired shapes. Cook for five to six minutes. Remove as soon as any brown appears on the bottom of the cookies. Remove to cooling rack. Frost once at room temperature.

My Favorite "Royal Icing"

No protein or phe.

Mix two tablespoons of water with one cup of confectioners sugar. Add any desired coloring.

I split it up and made a few various colors with dye. It worked well at one half a cup sugar to one tablespoon of water and even a quarter cup to half a tablespoon. Sprinkle with any garnishes before the frosting dries.


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

bottom of page