top of page

Dill Pickle Pasta Salad


If you are looking for a flavorful, low phe and high calorie dish then look for further. I found fresh dill at our local farm and it smelled so fragrant I bought it with no recipe in mind. I got home, scoured my fridge and found homemade pickles from my mom. I've been devouring these pickles straight up but they were even better in a recipe.

Feel free to get creative with this recipe. I like to add chopped celery or crispy cucumber for added crunch in the bite. For this recipe, I was attempting to keep the phe as low as possible. I made over six servings of this dish. Then, kept four servings out for lunches this week. I will look forward to this meal everyday at work. Certainly add more or less dill to suit. I also used a slightly sweet vinegar. My mom made a quince vinegar and it added a nice level of flavor.

Dill Pickle Pasta Salad

Serving size: 1 cup or ~150 grams

Each serving has 27 mg of phe, .6 gm protein and 189 calories

200 grams low pro penne pasta

23 grams chopped, fresh dill

100 grams vinegar (either rice, white balsamic or a slightly sweet vinegar)

250 grams dill pickles

70 grams Hellman's Real Mayonnaise

17 grams Follow Your Heart shredded parmesan

1 teaspoon black pepper

Cook pasta. Wash and chop fresh dill. Chop pickles. Drain noodles. Add dill, mayonnaise, pickles, vinegar and cheese to pasta. Mix well. Season with black pepper and serve chilled or warm. I prefer chilled but heat it up when it is not fresh to soften the noodles.


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

bottom of page