top of page

Cheat, Cheat, Never Beat!

Cheating is never fun when levels are high after but those few bites are sometimes so succulent. If your child is "cheating", the most important discussion piece is why they are cheating. I never recall my parents scolding me if I had too many french fries or extra rice but rather working to reflect on the trigger behind why I did it. I remember so many conversations with my parents about how I felt after eating high. As a teenager, if we were out and I wanted extra, my mom would say "just go for a run tomorrow". This always helped combat the symptoms of eating too high.

We found the biggest reason for cheating was not having good, low protein food options around. Integral for the success of the diet is having DELICIOUS, low pro food readily available. This is a must, especially at parties and get togethers where the child may not be able to enjoy the same experience if their food is not good.

Start cooking with them to foster an appreciation for cooking at a young age. It is so important for these kiddos to enjoy the artform of cooking. When older, metabolic patients will only enjoy mealtime if they like what they are eating. This starts from a young age. Of course, toddlers are known for being picky but if you start by baking cookies, cupcakes and various versions of bread in your bread maker it will show them the reward for cooking. Have them measure it out ( I never said it wouldn't be messy along the way) or put the toppings on the low protein pizza. This is where it all begins.

Holidays are always difficult because it is so easy to munch on high phe chips, crackers or appetizers. Therefore, I worked with my parents to find something that I look forward to. I love salty and fried plantain chips. They are not free but if counted out ahead of time the child can enjoy the whole bowl. Even if they are not counted (as I generally did not count phe growing up) you know they are a significant improvement from potato or tortilla chips.

Thinking forward to Thanksgiving it is easy for the low protein diet to be lost in the shuffle of preparing turkey, gravy and high protein stuffing for a gathering of guests. My mom always made sure I had stuffing (which I love, especially when she cooks it), green bean casserole and my dad made mashed yuca for me. This combination is perfect. Top with low protein gravy and you are good to go. Honestly, I do not know how my mom did it. I know at this point in my life I almost always prep the low protein food ahead of time. Then, it all goes in the freezer. If I don't make it ahead of time sometimes I even forget about my own food when hosting or attending a party.

Let's put the holidays and parties aside, once I started living on my own, I also realized I needed quick, low options ready in my fridge. The biggest snacking generally takes place immediately when getting home from work (or school growing up). I found that is when I tend to cheat. One little bite turns into a few bites or sometimes even a full bowl. Therefore, if there are prepped, GOOD low protein food stored in the fridge this saves a lot of phe.

(Eating is and should be a family affair. We would start with salads but the meal was always low pro for me and protein-packed for the rest of my family).

Obviously, cheating could be more complex than what I experienced. There may be an element of control for the child. A helpful approach may be to simply GIVE THEM THE CONTROL. It can be hard to let go (easy for me to say given that I don't have kids) but with metabolic disorders it is a must. This was my parent's strategy. I essentially managed my own diet by middle school. Let them pack their lunch, devise meal plans, plan for parties. You can be there to support them and help prep food. Brainstorm to think of yummy meals they will look forward to. Food should be enjoyed, whether it is low protein or not.


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

bottom of page