top of page

Low Protein Buffalo Dip

I love everything that fall brings including college football on Saturdays and NFL games on Sunday. My favorite drink is hot, mulled cider but I love to pair with hearty appetizers. Just because the treat is low protein does not mean it should be any less appetizing.

Of course, veggie platters are my go-to. Fresh veggies can be enjoyed by everyone at the party and are refreshing in the midst of unhealthy options. I like to dip veggies in the buffalo dip, which is my other favorite appetizer. Other than that, I will fill the dip bowl with low protein hummus or store-bought hummus and dip my veggies in my favorite low protein salad dressing (usually french dressing)!

My low protein buffalo dip is mimicked after Frank's Red Hot Sauce buffalo dip on the side of their bottle. Their chicken dip recipe is a home run. It is a people-pleaser and usually the bowl is empty by half time. Of course, I needed a low protein option.

The base is jackfruit. I cook this ahead of time in the instant pot for five minutes. First of all, I saute with butter then pressure cook it with a tablespoon of Frank's hot sauce to infuse the flavor. Like I said on my instagram, I always cook jackfruit in my instant pot. It somehow forces the flavor into the jackfruit and softens it more than on the stove top. However, you can always cook any jackfruit recipe on the stove and it would be the same ingredients.

Below is the recipe. I like veggies or any low protein chips for dipping. I can even eat it by the spoonful. It is that good!!

Low Protein Buffalo Dip

Makes four servings with 53 mg of phe and 190 calories in each

1-20 ounce can of young, green jackfruit

2 tablespoons butter

1 packet G. Washington seasoning (or another low protein consomme)

1 cup water

2 tablespoons dry ranch salad dressing and seasoning mix

.5 cup Follow Your Heart shredded parmesan

4 ounces vegan cream cheese

2 to 4 tablespoons Frank's Red Hot Sauce

Heat butter in instant pot on saute mode. Drain jackfruit and add to the instant pot. Heat through. Add rich brown seasoning and one tablespoon buffalo sauce. Stir and saute until fragrant. Add one cup of water. Turn instant pot off. Seal. Turn on to manual for five minutes. Use instant pressure release once cooked.

Mix cream cheese, parmesan and the rest of Frank's hot sauce. Add jackfruit to mix. I like to leave it chunky. Heat in microwave or oven until bubbly and browned on top. Serve with plantain chips, veggies or low protein chips.


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

​

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

​

bottom of page