top of page

PKU Wedding Registry Must-Haves

Making your wedding registry is fun and exciting, especially for those with PKU who need to spend a lot more time in the kitchen than the average person. We were blessed with abundant family and friends that absolutely spoiled us. This was so helpful to start our lives together and for me to start on the right foot with managing my diet. Now I have all the fun tools and gadgets and hopefully you will learn from my tips as there were several gadgets I added that do not use to this day.

I can't help but share a few pictures up from my showers...

Pictured with my mom and grandmother. Hosted by a family friend at her gorgeous home.

With my mother in law at Zia's in Chicago

Bread Maker

This has to be my all time favorite kitchen appliance. My mom got it for me when I was starting out on my own in my first apartment and living the life as a young, single nurse. I had to be on my A-Game as I was on a trauma floor. Therefore, sticking to diet was of utmost priority and by far, the best low pro bread is homemade bread.

This appliance takes the thinking and time out of making bread. The best part- it is 1000 X better than any store bought or ordered online low pro bread. Depending on the ingredients, it is extremely low in phe as well. The recipe I use makes delicious bread that is one of the lowest foods in my diet.

Mine is a Panasonic and it is a beast. This thing has been with me through four moves. Everything from my first apartment on my own to moving in with my husband and then buying our first house together. This is the EXACT one I have linked here.

Lemon Press

This is a great little gadget. It juices a lemon better than any tool I have ever used. I never feel like I am losing some juice in the process, which I used to with other juicing tools (would hate to lose a single drop of lemon). It's great for making drinks, too.

Mango Cutter

This is so not necessary but oh-so awesome. I find I eat way more mango having this tool in my kitchen. Mango is loaded with vitamin C, A, E and tons of antioxidants. To top it off, there are 35 mg of phe in the ENTIRE mango. Eat your heart out.

Instant Pot

Instant pot = instant amazing. Perfect for PKU families that have to prepare both a low protein and traditional meal. I find myself mostly using the Instant Pot for the high protein meals. The chicken always turns out moist (per Nick's report). Often, I throw it in frozen because I forget to take it out of the freezer and it STILL turns out well. This takes the pressure off me because I do not have to worry about two meals as the Instant Pot does all the work for me.

As far as low protein meals, applesauce is fantastic. It never burns and all you have to do is peel the apples and throw them in. Also, I am working on cook times for low pro rice and they are turning out quite well.

Garlic Rocker

This tool is amazing. So simple, but it takes the dread out of mincing garlic. It releases the flavor of garlic by crushing it rather than chopping and does not waste any of the garlic as compared to the garlic press. Additionally, the rocker is much easier to clean than the garlic press (always a bonus).

A Good Set of Knives

Worth every penny, especially for slicing the ever-tricky low pro bread or chopping the massive amounts of fruits and veggies that accompany this diet. I have the Wusthof Classic line and I absolutely love those knives. You can add individual knives to your registry to help spread the wealth. I was fortunate one family member bought me the starter set and then I was able to supplement with gift cards for the other knives I really wanted. If you request individually, the knives I suggest are;

either a 5" or 7" hollow edge santoku knife (I have five inch and that seems sufficient).

8" bread knife

6" utility knife

I do not have the tomato knife but have always wanted it. Definitely a luxury so it makes a fun gift to request because you won't ever buy it for yourself.

Food Processor

Get the biggest, baddest one you can find. I had a mini food processor and I got the upgrade when we got married and have never looked back. Don't get me wrong, the mini food processors are perfect for salsa and chopping onions or other veggies but when it comes to ricing an entire cauliflower- bigger is always better.

This is the one I have. It is the best! Cuisinart is an awesome brand because you can replace any part online at any time. Last year one of the latches broke off and I was able to buy a new top for $30 online. Much more cost effective than buying an entirely new food processor.

KitchenAid Stand Mixer

Need I say more? The attachments are clutch including pasta maker and spiralizer. I use this bad boy usually twice weekly for low pro baking, banana pancakes for my #1, or mixing either low protein or high protein burgers.

Pictured below is the one I have. Nothing fancy as far as KitchenAid mixers go but so very functional. I actually had one well before I met my husband so did not get the chance to ask for a fun color on my wedding registry but I still absolutely love it.

Rice Cooker

This is a great appliance for rice and low protein rice alike. Cambrooke Food's Short Grain Rice is my rice of choice. I prepare it one of two ways; cooked down with liquid (one-pot style) or in the rice maker. The rice maker has not failed me yet. This is the best when we order our favorite take-out. I am able to throw the low pro rice in the rice maker and it is prepared by the time we get home from picking up. No prep needed because on take out nights that is usually my motivation. It is also great for dinner parties as you can easily prepare the protein option with a side of traditional rice. You do not need anything fancy, just a little one has suited me well (linked here.)

Toaster

Not sure about you guys but I eat low pro bread for breakfast five out of seven days a week. We all know that low protein bread is nothing without a toaster and a little of my favorite local, creamy, sea-salted butter (sorry vegans). For this, get yourself the best toaster on the market.

My Breville is my baby. It has long slots, which are clutch for the low pro bread that can be various shapes and sizes. Pictured below.

A Good Set of Pans

The obvious choice. My pans are All Clad, which is excellent for cooking. The All Clad technology utilizes the most efficient method for cooking as combined layers of stainless steel and aluminum. For the serious chef this is the way to go. These pans are NOT nonstick and can be difficult to clean. However, that makes them truly "seasoned". Because of the stainless and aluminum combination rather than nonstick they stay in great shape. It is nearly impossible to scratch these pans. For example, my mother in law has her mother's set from the 80's and they are in perfect shape.

Below is the set I got for our wedding (10 piece D3 collection). It covers all of my cooking needs whether low pro or high protein. If you are looking for nonstick pans I have heard that ceramic pans are the way to go.

All Clad Essential Pan

My obsession. Excellent for large portions of low pro paella sauces or chicken dishes for my main man. It is deep and wide, which makes it perfect for one-pot dishes.

Splatter Screen

This is a must. The screen prevents a messy stove that necessitates constant cleaning. I cook on a gas range (dying for an induction stove-top but unfortunately, I couldn't put that one on the registry...hehe). Gas ranges tend to get quite messy, especially if splattered with hot oil or red sauce that is cooking down. Throw this one size fits all screen over any pan to keep the stove top neat and tidy.

Avocado Keeper

Supposedly this keeps avocados longer. I'm not sure if I buy into that but I do know I am reducing waste by using less baggies to store my avocados!

Le Creuset Dutch Oven

You can't copy the original on this one, folks. Le Creuset is the cream of the crop. The fun colors don't hurt either. I prefer to mix and match all my Le Creuset colors in my kitchen accessories or some opt for all the same color. I suggest 8 quart as the basic, entry level dutch oven.

Yes, Le Creuset is the gold standard but no matter what get yourself a dutch oven. I have a Le Creuset and also an All Clad stainless steel domed dutch oven. Both of these are extremely efficient methods of cooking and it is great having two dutch ovens as I am often cooking both a high protein and low protein option.

Finally, not PKU-related but make sure to request some nice pieces. Silver, crystal, platters, china and decorative pieces are the fun to pull out of your cabinet when entertaining. You will always remember who gave them to you for your wedding, which makes it special. Below are some of my favorites;

Riedel Stemless Wine Glasses (All different shapes for every kind of wine imaginable).

Riedel Stemless Champagne Flutes

Waterford Pineapple Hospitality Pitcher

Anything Simon Pearce (Hand blown glass from Vermont. I have the Hanover Bowl. My husband and I met in Hanover and one of my dearest friends from that area got this for us for our wedding).


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

​

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

​

bottom of page