top of page

Traveling with PKU

How do you all feel about traveling with a metabolic disorder?

We recently traveled to the west coast to visit family and when on the plane I wrote down a few thoughts.

I have to say; JetBlue rocks and is totally conducive to both blogging and the PKU diet. While on the plane I have started to reflect on traveling with this genetic disorder. It is certainly less than ideal. Lucky for me, the TSA security checkpoint was easy breezy today. The agent was actually nice (shocking, I know). It probably helps that I am on the way home and have significantly less fluids in my carry on.

What kind of "formula" do you guys pack when flying? I usually pack a mix of Lophlex and Restore Lite. I am thinking about adding BetterMilk in, which would be very practical for travel.

For the flights, I generally pack a low protein sandwich and as much fresh fruit as possible. Below is an example of a Cambrooke toasted garlic bigger bagel sandwich with olive tapenade from Pike Place Market and a slice of Follow Your Heart pepper jack cheese.

It's not glamorous but it works... Am I right?

Traveling to Seattle is always quite enjoyable for me. Not only are there several family members in the area but I also have a kitchen to cook in. For us with PKU it is so nice to have the ability to toast our low protein bagels or prepare my pasta and dinner to share with family. This makes traveling easy.

However, there are times we travel and stay in a hotel. Once we arrive at the location, I have enough low protein bread to support two meals a day. Generally, it is easy to talk restaurants into toasting my bread so it is an easily transportable low protein product for me to carry. The final meal of the day I try to supplement with a large veggie salad to add some nutrients and flavor.

We also travel to Chicago for sporting events and to visit family as it is where Nick grew up. There is one restaurant we frequent in Chicago that will cook my pasta and prepare a delicious meal on site for me. As you all know, it is so fun to eat a hot meal that is prepared for you, especially when that is a rarity.

If I can follow this meal plan when traveling my levels tend to stay low. That being said… I am easily tempted by veggie sushi, especially when in new cities. Like anyone with PKU you know it is easy to fall off the wagon. During times like that, I power the exercise and try to monitor my mood as much as possible. At the end of the day I know my family and friends will love me no matter what, which I am thankful for.

(At a girlfriend's bachelorette in Charleston) :-)


Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

​

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

​

bottom of page