top of page

Brunch in the Bellamy Room

Sundays are for brunch. Whether you need a mimosa to wash down the night before or some greasy home fries, it is a time to gather and discuss the events from the weekend. When we lived downtown it was fun to go to the local spots but now our favorite brunch spot is our three season room, which we have cheesily titled, "The Bellamy Room" as we are located on the Bellamy River.

Clearly, Clooney loves to brunch (please note the transition from a noun to a verb).

This past Sunday was foggy and we enjoyed a cozy brunch in The Bellamy Room. Nick attempts to follow a paleo diet with the occasional binge on shrimp scampi, his personal favorite. Therefore, his favorite breakfast is banana pancakes and he does not even notice there is no flour in them! For me, I love to make savory omelettes with lots of sautéed veggies and my low pro cheese.

Let us begin.

I start by mixing the Cambrooke's Eggz with unsweetened coconut milk and a splash of oil. Generally, I do not measure but I find it cooks best when it is thicker than they recommend. I spread it over the pan and then flip twice prior to adding the veggies and cheese. The photo below is of the omelette mix that was too thin and it made for difficult flipping. Either way, they both will please your low pro tummy.

I dump a bunch of spices in, which include turmeric, smoked paprika, cayenne (I like it spicy!), and also steak seasoning. This type of seasoning gives a nice, salty flavor that PKU'ers crave. Occasionally, I will use Cambrooke Food's Chicken Consomme to give a more hearty flavor (beware it is salty). I struggle with the concept of "less is more" and just dump spices. Sometimes I regret it, sometimes not.

Then, pour the mix into a well-greased pan on medium-low. This will take a while to solidify so leave it cooking on the back burner while you prepare the rest of the meal. You do not want to attempt to flip it until it has browned nicely, and I'm sure you have found that as well.

Slice up and fry the sausage... quick and easy and always a crowd pleaser. I use organic chicken sausage that I referred to in the jambalaya recipe. My favorite brand is Applegate and if you look them up online you will see why. Free of everything except pure chicken and organic spices. This is a nice (and easy way) to add some extra flavors and protein to Nick's breakfast. The sausage is precooked and all you have to do it fry it up in a pan. Why make things harder for yourself than you need to?

The other step to Nick's favorite brunch is mixing the banana pancakes. It is pretty straight-forward: two eggs, one ripe banana, splash of vanilla, and a dash of cinnamon. Mix in your KitchenAid and cook it up. I make it as one large pancake because it seems to cook better (and is quicker) than several small cakes.

He does not even know there are no refined carbohydrates. This is perfect for low carb, high nutrient living. However, not perfect for the low protein diet.

Speaking of which... Sautee up any veggies you would like to add to your omelette. For this recipe I used jackfruit, olives, tomatoes, onion, and peppers but you can use any of your favorite veggies. Note to self: I find olives are an integral part of a low protein omelette.

Are you familiar with the term "heaping tablespoon"? Well, I would call this a heaping omelette!

Mama Margaret's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Always cook with wine. All recipes are better with wine.

 

#2

The more color, the better the flavor.

 

#3

Rotate low protein specialty foods with fruits and veggies to maintain low levels without counting.

​

#4

Supplement with regular exercise to better tolerate phe consumption. 

​

bottom of page